News, big and not so big

by

Hey Ladies,

Wanted to update the BeWellers that our dear girl Krissy is on the mend after suffering from appendicitis. After nearly a week in the hospital she is back home and hopefully recovering quickly. Think good thoughts that she is back with her glass in hand soon!

On another note, after running into Lindsay tonight, I felt compelled to post. Upon completion of the cleanse I ran off to Florida and Dallas where I managed to take the CLEAN method and throw it out the window. I had  no real intention of keeping up that sort of strict plan, but I was planning on slowly bringing different food groups back into my diet as a way to hopefully identify some sinus issue triggers. That did not happen. I think I consumed wheat, dairy, sugar, wine and coffee within hours of each other on more than one occasion-nice. About  half way through the trip I started to feel the effects. My face developed a red rash around my nose and mouth and by the end of this week it had spread to my eyelids (???) and between my eyebrows. I am KICKING myself for not being  more diligent on the back-end of this program. I saw Carmen the holistic doctor during my clean period and she charted how I was supposed to reintegrate food into my diet. It was just too hard to do while traveling! We were staying with friends and I didn’t want to be “that person” who couldn’t eat half the dinner.

After 2 days of being home and basically being back on an elimination diet my rash/hive (?) situation has gotten under control, but needless to say, I am still baffled as to what is going on with my system. I see Carmen next week and I am anxious to hear what she has to say. I might be back on CLEAN just when I was getting used to drinking wine again!

Anyway, I just wanted to forewarn any of you who are thinking about “cleaning” to really take note of what happens after you start adding foods back into your diet. There is a lot of value in assessing how you feel and react afterwards. Learn from my mistake!

3 Responses to “News, big and not so big”

  1. martizh Says:

    Amy- I have always been a bit scared of doing a cleanse like this. I know I should – I have to get my sugar in check and lose those last 8 pounds – I wish I had your will power. One smell of Voodoo Donuts or Stumptown coffee and I am a goner. Though I have been dying to eat cleaner and change the boys diet. I think I need to consult with you.

  2. kelly Says:

    Thanks for the heads up Amy! I am contemplating which cleanse to use – I forgot to ask Carmen if she recommended any from New Seasons or Whole Foods. Snap.

  3. glassinhand Says:

    Geez Amy, that’s rough! It’d be really interesting to find out what caused that reaction, I wonder what Carmen will have to say! I really only stuck to the strict cleanse for 5 days and then I’d end up having a little bread at lunch or a couple of chips at a party, so I never really saw the effects. I didn’t drink wine for 9 days, though and I have only had coffee once in the past month, which feels great.

Leave a Reply

